Girls hunt too!! Number 4 & 5! – FIELD REPORT/ARCHERY DEER: From Jessica

God is good!!!

Mentor Jeff, Me & Oct 2 Does

Saturday morning (Oct. 2) was another beautiful crisp morning. Jeff Micek (my mentor) had already harvested a doe about 15 minutes after light, which meant it was my turn now. Around 7:40am, I just so happened to glance over my right shoulder and saw a doe and her fawn standing there at 8 yards. Moving slower then ever, I reached up and grabbed my bow, and waited for her to turn away so I could draw my bow back. She kept walking and made it out to about 11 yards when I grunted at her to make her stop. As soon as I shot, she took off  like a bullet, but only made it about 70 yards before crashing. After field dressing my deer, it turned out to be a ‘CENTER’ punched heart shot! I suprised myself with that one! 

A Picture Any Deer Hunter Would Love

Courtnie & Me - Headed to HC

After a great hunt in the morning, it was all followed by a great night at my high school senior homecoming dance! That’s right…I dress up too!!

The following night (Sunday) I made it out hunting again with my mentor Neil, and made another great shot and harvested my 5th doe.  She passed Neil at about 27 yards and came close enough to lick the steps of my tree before walking out away from me at about 8 yards. She slowly turned broadside then stopped, looking the other way.  As soon as I shot, she jumped but then almost stopped like nothing happened. Then she took off running and made it about thirty yards before tipping over.  Less then 3 mins after she fell over, Neil had nice doe walk by him and he made a great double lung shot! Way to go Neil.

Mentor Neil, Me & Oct 3 Does

Jessica

  1. GREAT article, Jess. It’s another very successful hunting season for you. =) Congratulations, beautiful girl!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

