First Hunt – FIELD REPORT/ARCHERY DEER: From Sam

First Hunt of the 2010 Season

Maybe Next Time!

Sunday, September 19, was my first hunt of the 2010 fall archery deer season, and man was I pumped!  We got in the stands around 4:00 p.m., but it was really slow until about 6:00.  I was scanning the area from my tree stand and about 70 yards to the east of me, I saw a deer. I reached behind my tree to grab my binoculars to confirm that it was a doe…she was a HUGE doe.  As she grazed the grass not knowing I was there, I got ready, but she decided to coast east and out of sight.  Then just a second later I looked back east where she was standing and there was a fawn.  When the fawn came out into the clearing, I saw that there was another big doe right behind her.  I began to tremble with excitement as they started my way, but all of a sudden they started leaning north and went away. Once again in the exact same spot there was yet another doe.  I reached around my tree to grab my binoculars, and that’s when I heard the crack of a stick to the north of me.  I looked up and saw a beast of a buck running the opposite direction – right in front of my stand at 30 yards.  Dang it!  He must have seen my movement when I reached around the tree.  That was the last that I saw of him.  Hopefully I will see him again soon…with my arrow in him.

Sam

    • tina filbert
    • September 24th, 2010

    great job sam, i like your natural style of writing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment