Introductions – Field Report/Archery Deer: From Sam

My First Buck - Taken in Mentor Program

Hi,
my name is Sam, I’m 15 and I have been in the mentor program for 2 years. With the season just underway I wanted to share a little about myself. I started shooting a bow in 2007. I bought my first bow (a Bear Odyssey ll) in 2006 when I had a broken arm. I couldn’t shoot it, or practice with it but I knew that I wanted to get into archery. Once I got the clearance from the doctor, I started going to JOAD (Junior Olympic Archery Development) hosted by the Golden Arrow Archery Club and Mentor Kevin Markt. The guys taught me how to shoot correctly and accurately and have fun while doing it. I practiced shooting and got up to the minimum requirement (at that time) of 40 lbs to hunt  for the next year.

 September of 2008 was the first time hunting in the mentor program and it was awesome. That year I was able shoot 5 deer! I knew that this was going to be a good time. The mentors who taught me are amazing and I owe them so much, as well as the Nebraska Game and Parks mentor program who finds the land and gets it signed up for us to hunt and learn on with professional guidance.

By my second year (last year), I had learned and experienced more than I had ever expected to. Last year I was able to help other people and share my knowledge that the mentors had passed on to me. By now I was teaching other new hunters how to shoot, put up a tree stand and gut a deer. I love the mentor program. We all get along and have a lot of fun together. Even during the off-season we get together and shoot 3-D competitions and have competitive shoot-offs.

Mentees at 3-D Shoot

I can’t wait for this season to start, and get out in the woods to get some deer in the freezer! Good luck to all of ya this season!

Sam

    • Jeff Micek
    • September 20th, 2010

    Nice post Sam. Will enjoy keeping up on your season
    Jeff

    • Lindsey Richters
    • September 21st, 2010

    What a nice surprise to see your post on here, Sam! I’m so proud of you, and I hope to get the opportunity to learn from you soon. I could sure use some help with my shooting and butchering skills. 🙂

  1. Thats great you learned to skin prepare your deer I belive in also teaching others how to hunt and field dress deer. Me and my brother taught his sons how to field dress many years back before he was old enough to actually hunt back then I shot a doe in the morning and was running around helping some of are friends find there deer they have shot and didn’t really get time to take care of my deer so we been gone about 3 hours and my nephew took it upon himself and skinned the deer out while we was gone he did an excellant job remembered everthing we taught him we were so proud of his accomplishment and took lots of photos of his field dressing skills.Now to this day I take ever oppurtunity to hunt with him now. 2 to 3 times a week. Thank God that others feel the same way

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

